Fellowships 1 graphic
Fellowships 2 graphic
Fellowships 3 graphic

In 2020, the Academic Consortium for Integrative Medicine and Health assumed the role of recognizing integrative medicine fellowship programs from the American Board of Integrative Medicine (ABOIM).

In this role, the Academic Consortium Fellowship Review Committee sets and monitors the educational standards for integrative medicine fellowship programs.

Fellowship Program Recognition

  • Program Requirements

All integrative medicine fellowship programs must meet the minimum standards found in the standards checklist. The minimum standards have been developed to ensure all programs are preparing its graduates to sit for the certification exam.

Please note that the Fellowship Review Committee continues to evaluate the recognition program. Please contact the Academic Consortium before starting an application to ensure you have the latest standards. 

New Program Recognition

New integrative medicine fellowship programs must first apply for recognition using the standard fellowship program application. Programs will be recognized for an initial three years after which the program will go through a re-recognition process.

Once an application has been submitted, the timeline for fellowship program recognition can take up to nine months. Before starting the standard fellowship application, please contact the Academic Consortium office at info@imconsortium.org.

Program Re-Recognition

After the initial three-year recognition process, all programs will have a re-recognition process every five years.

Once an application has been submitted, the timeline for fellowship program re-recognition can take up to six months.

List of Current Fellowship Programs

Click here to view a list of current institutions offering fellowship programs.

Fellowship Review Committee

Jill Schneiderhan, MD, University of Michigan, Chair
Erika Cappelluti, MD, PhD, MA, FCCP, ABOIM, ABIHM, Academy of Integrative Health & Medicine (AIHM)
Ann Marie Chiasson, MD, MPH, University of Arizona, Liaison to ABOIM
Esther Konigsberg, MD, CCFP, McMaster University
Iman Majd, MD, LAc, University of Washington
Maria R Mascarenhas, MD, University of Pennsylvania
Adam Rindfleisch, MD, University of Wisconsin

Amy Locke, MD, University of Utah, Liaison to the Academic Consortium Board
Samantha Simmons, MPH, Chief Executive Officer of the Academic Consortium