Victor S. Sierpina, MD
University of Texas Medical Branch

Dr. Sierpina joined UTMB’s Department of Family Medicine in 1996 and currently serves as Professor of Family Medicine. He holds the W.D. and Laura Nell Nicholson Family Professorship in Integrative Medicine and is director of the department's Medical Student Education Program and of its Faculty Development Program. He is also a UTMB Distinguished Teaching Professor.

Dr. Sierpina earned a Bachelor of Science from Arizona State University and a Doctor of Medicine from the Abraham Lincoln School of Medicine at the University of Illinois in Chicago. He completed a residency in family practice at the MacNeal Memorial Hospital in Berwyn, Illinois.  After completing his residency he continued advanced studies in ayurvedic medicine at the International University in Fairfield, Iowa, and in medical acupuncture for physicians at the UCLA School of Medicine. He has also completed a faculty development fellowship with the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill Department of Family Medicine.

Dr. Sierpina is certified by both the American Board of Family Medicine and the American Board of Integrative and Holistic Medicine. He was named one of Best Doctors'® "Best Doctors in America" from 2005 to 2014, and was featured by the Houston Medical Journal as one of the "Best of the Best" in 2010. Dr. Sierpina was named Top Doc in both 2016 and 2017 as published in the Texas Monthly Magazine and is the winner of the 2017 Excellence in Clinical Teaching Award, awarded by UTMB Health.

Dr. Sierpina has conducted funded research in numerous topics related to integrative medicine and curriculum development. His clinical and research interests are medical student education in family medicine, integrative medicine, and integrative oncology. His practice includes acupuncture, nutrition, botanical medicine and mind-body therapies.


The Consortium’s Bravewell Distinguished Service Award is a way in which we honor one of the Consortium members for their tireless contribution to the Consortium's mission. This Service Award recipient will be chosen by the Board of Directors.

The award recipient should be someone that:

  • Has a record of service that has made a significant impact on the history and mission of the Consortium.
  • Is recognized across the large community of the Consortium as a whole.
  • Is a faculty member, student or otherwise associated with a Consortium member institution in good standing.
  • Has not previously received the award.

Past Award Recipients

2012 – Aviad Haramati, PhD, Georgetown University

2013 – Mary Jo Kreitzer, PhD, RN, University of Minnesota

2015 – James Dalen, MD, MPH, University of Arizona

2016 – David M. Eisenberg, MD, Harvard University

2017 – Ben Kligler, MD, MPH, Veteran’s Health Administration

2018 - Brian Berman, MD, University of Maryland