The Academic Consortium for Integrative Medicine & Health began as a visionary concept shared by eight academic medical institutions in 1999, during a meeting at the Fetzer Institute in Kalamazoo, Michigan. The group of eight institutions pledged a strong commitment to the vision of integrative medicine and the development of its role in healthcare delivery, shaped by several core values.

These values remain to this day a driving force in the growth and increasing impact of this organization.  They include a process that is itself integrative and mindful, deepening not only an understanding of this comprehensive approach to healthcare, but also recognizing experience supported by evidence-based results as essential elements.

Founding institutions:
Duke University
Harvard University
Stanford University
University of California, San Francisco
University of Arizona
University of Maryland
University of Massachusetts
University of Minnesota

Conceived as the Academic Consortium on Integrative Medicine, the new organization embraced the following vision for its members, articulated by representative Jon Kabat-Zinn, PhD:

  • Support these leaders in their advocacy for integrative efforts at their institutions.
  • Expand familiarity with the range of programs and orientations emerging at other medical centers, and report the clinical, educational, and research opportunities in this rapidly growing field.
  • Come to a larger understanding of the importance of this field and how the development of a scientific knowledge base, appropriate clinical expertise, and a comprehensive, integrative, mind/body perspective can positively influence medicine of the future.
  • Develop an influential, expandable working community of awareness, based on first-hand experience of the principles and practices of mindfulness.  This community can contribute to the articulation of a new paradigm for medicine, one that truly integrates, on all levels, the best of conventional, mind/body, complementary, and non-traditional approaches to health and illness, and to the development of the field as other academic health centers seek to develop this work at their own institutions.
  • Establish, through dialogue and inquiry among the participants, the true mission, objectives, and scope for the Academic Consortium.

In 2000, during a second meeting, Albert Einstein/Yeshiva University, Georgetown University and Thomas Jefferson University joined the organization.  At this meeting the name was changed to The Consortium of Academic Health Centers for Integrative Medicine and the organization received an educational curriculum grant from the Philanthropic Collaborative for Integrative Medicine (PCIM).

An organizing meeting in 2002 established the Bylaws and a governing structure, including committees and working groups focused on membership, clinical care, education and research.   Brian Berman, MD, of the University of Maryland was elected chair of the Steering Committee for a three-year term. He selected Aviad Haramati, PhD, of Georgetown University to serve with him as vice chair.  The Policy Committee was formed in January 2005 to develop a Consortium public policy agenda.

In January 2015, the Consortium of Academic Health Centers for Integrative Medicine changed its name to the Academic Consortium for Integrative Medicine & Health.

With early and sustained philanthropic support from The Bravewell Collaborative, the Academic Consortium has grown to nearly 80 academic medical centers and health systems working together to advance comprehensive, integrative medicine and health.

A Growing Community of Whole Health Champions

Member Institutions by Year of Admission

2024 | Memorial Hospital, Ochsner Health

2023 | City of Hope, Torrance Memorial Medical Center, SUNY Upstate Medical University, University of California, Davis

2022 | Indiana Unviersity, Southern Cross University

2021 | Alice J. Walton School of Medicine, Hospital Israelita Albert Einstein, St. Jude Children's Research Hospital

2020 | Case Western Reserve University, NICM Health Research Institute | Western Sydney University, Parkview Health System

2019 | University of Nevada, Las Vegas | Kirk Kerkorian School of Medicine, University of Tennessee Medical Center

2018 | NYU Langone Health, University of Florida

2017 | Weill Cornell Medicine

2016 | Emory University School of Medicine, Hackensack Meridian Health, Memorial Sloan Kettering, University of Utah, Veterans Health Administration

2015 | Central Maine Healthcare, Corewell Health, Sutter Health Systems, University Hospitals Connor Whole Health, University of Saskatchewan

2014 | AHN Integrative Health, Tecnológico de Monterrey School of Medicine, University of Kentucky

2013 | Texas Tech University, University of Miami, University of Toronto

2012 | Allina Health, Scripps Center for Integrative Medicine, University of Southern California

2011 | Advocate Aurora Health, Cleveland Clinic, Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai, The University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center, Tufts University

2010 | University of California, San Diego, University of Chicago

2009 | University of Cincinnati

2008 | Boston University, Northwestern University, The Ohio State University

2007 | Johns Hopkins University, McMaster University, Vanderbilt University

2006 | Mayo Clinic, University of Colorado, University of Vermont, Yale University

2005 | University of North Carolina - Chapel Hill, University of Wisconsin - Madison

2004 | University of Alberta, University of California, Irvine, University of Connecticut, University of New Mexico, Wake Forest Baptist University

2003 | George Washington University, Oregon Health & Science University, University of Calgary, University of California, Los Angeles (UCLA)

2002 | University of Michigan, University of Pennsylvania, University of Pittsburgh (UPMC), University of Texas Medical Branch (UTMB), University of Washington

2000 | Albert Einstein College of Medicine/Yeshiva University, Georgetown University, Thomas Jefferson University

1999 | Duke University, Harvard University, Stanford University, University of California, San Francisco, University of Arizona, University of Maryland, University of Massachusetts, University of Minnesota